top of page
logo conferencia.jfif

Holy Apostolic Catholic Assyrian Church of the East

Syriac Antioch Catholic Church Mission

Melkite Antioch Church

Syro Malankara Catholic Church Mission

Conference of Catholic Clergy and Religious in the United States of America

Chaldean Catholic Assyrian Church of the East

Chinese Catholic Bishops Conference

Ordem dos Padres Católicos Orientais no Brasil e no Exterior

 Catholic Church in Germany World Mission

Order of Saint Benedict Cassinese Benedictine Congregation

Ordem Beneficente de Assistência Social Católica Organização Intergovernamental - Brazil

Fundação Mundial Americana de São Vicente de Paulo

Fundação Universitária Americana da Santa Casa de misericórdia do Brasil

American Benedictine Catholic University Intergovernmental Foundation

American College of Artificial Medical Intelligence Foundation

fraternal intercommunion churches:

Autocephalous Eastern Orthodox churches

Timeline showing the history of the main autocephalous Eastern Orthodox Churches, from an Eastern Orthodox point of view, up to 2021

Ranked in order of seniority, with the year of independence (autocephaly) given in parentheses, where applicable. There are a total of 17 autocephalous Eastern Orthodox churches which are recognised at varying levels among the communion of the Eastern Orthodox Church.

Four ancient patriarchates

  1. Ecumenical Patriarchate of Constantinople (independence in 330 AD, elevated to the rank of autocephalous Patriarchate in 381)

  2. Greek Orthodox Patriarchate of Alexandria

  3. Greek Orthodox Patriarchate of Antioch

  4. Greek Orthodox Patriarchate of Jerusalem (independence in 451 AD, elevated to the rank of autocephalous Patriarchate in 451)

Those four ancient Eastern Orthodox Patriarchates are of the five episcopal sees forming the historical Pentarchy, the fifth one being the See of Rome. Those four Eastern Orthodox patriarchates remained in communion with each other after the 1054 schism with Rome. Of note, the title of "Patriarch" was created in 531 by Justinian.

Junior patriarchates

  1. Bulgarian Orthodox Church (870, Patriarchate since 918/919, recognised by the Patriarchate of Constantinople in 927)

  2. Georgian Orthodox Church (Patriarchate since 1010)

  3. Serbian Orthodox Church (1219, Patriarchate since 1346)

  4. Russian Orthodox Church (1448, recognised in 1589)

  5. Romanian Orthodox Church (1872, recognised in 1885, Patriarchate since 1925)

Autocephalous archbishoPS

  1. Church of Cyprus (recognised in 431)

  2. Church of Greece (1833, recognised in 1850)

  3. Albanian Orthodox Church (1922, recognised in 1937)

  4. Macedonian Orthodox Church – Archdiocese of Ohrid (1967, recognised in 2022)

Autocephalous metropoliTE

  1. Polish Orthodox Church (1924)

  2. Orthodox Church of the Czech Lands and Slovakia (1951)

  3. Orthodox Church in America (1970, not recognised by the Ecumenical Patriarchate, but recognised by the Russian Orthodox Church and 5 other churches)

  4. Orthodox Church of Ukraine (autocephaly from 15 December 2018, recognised by the Ecumenical Patriarchate on 5 January 2019 and 3 other churches)

The four ancient patriarchates are the most senior, followed by the five junior patriarchates. Autocephalous archbishoprics follow the patriarchates in seniority, with the Church of Cyprus being the only ancient one (AD 431). In the diptychs of the Russian Orthodox Church and some of its daughter churches (e.g., the Orthodox Church in America), the ranking of the five junior patriarchal churches is different. Following the Russian Church in rank is Georgian, followed by Serbian, Romanian, and then Bulgarian Church. The ranking of the archbishoprics is the same.

Autonomous Eastern Orthodox churches


Diagram with the organization of the Eastern Orthodox Church as of 2020

Further information: Autonomy (Eastern Orthodoxy)

under the Ecumenical Patriarchate of Constantinople

under the Greek Orthodox Church of Antioch

under the Greek Orthodox Church of Jerusalem

under the Russian Orthodox Church

under the Romanian Orthodox Church

Semi-autonomous churches

under the Ecumenical Patriarchate of Constantinople

under the Russian Orthodox Church

Limited self-government (not autonomy)

under the Ecumenical Patriarchate of Constantinople

under the Russian Orthodox Church

under the Romanian Orthodox Church

Unrecognised churches

Main article: 

Timeline of the main unrecognised and True Orthodox churches which have come out of the Serbian Orthodox Church, until 2021


Timeline of the main unrecognised and True Orthodox churches which have come out of the Russian Orthodox Church, until 2021

True Orthodox

See also: True Orthodox church

True Orthodox Christians are groups of traditionalist Eastern Orthodox churches which have severed communion since the 1920s with the mainstream Eastern Orthodox churches for various reasons, such as calendar reform, the involvement of mainstream Eastern Orthodox in ecumenism, or the refusal to submit to the authority of mainstream Eastern Orthodox Church. The True Orthodox Church in the Soviet Union was also called the Catacomb Church; the True Orthodox in Romania, Bulgaria, Greece and Cyprus are also called Old Calendarists.

These groups refrain from concelebration of the Divine Liturgy with the mainstream Eastern Orthodox, while maintaining that they remain fully within the canonical boundaries of the Church: i.e., professing Eastern Orthodox belief, retaining legitimate apostolic succession, and existing in communities with historical continuity.

The churches which follow True Orthodoxy are:

Main article: Old Believers  Old Believer churches

Old Believers are divided into various churches which do not recognize each others, nor the mainstream Eastern Orthodox Church.

Churches that are not recognised despite wanting to

The following churches recognize all other mainstream Eastern Orthodox churches, but are not recognised by any of them due to various disputes:

Churches that are neither recognised nor fully Eastern Orthodox

The following churches use the term "Orthodox" in their name and carries belief or the traditions of Eastern Orthodox church, but blend beliefs and traditions from other denominations outside of Eastern Orthodoxy:

bottom of page